New music roundup – No.2

Following the success of my first new music roundup, I’ve received loads of cool new music to stick into this second edition. Check out my pick of the best new music around below and feel free to add your new music tips in the comments at the bottom…

TINMEN – ‘Handful Of Dust EP’

I get sent a lot of music by a lot of new bands, but rarely has a debut EP grabbed me as much as this one – which brilliantly straddles the hyphen in ‘indie-pop’. Lots of catchy melodies and memorable lyrics abound in ‘Handful Of Dust’, which marks them out as a band to watch. Find out more about TINMEN at their excellent website: wearethetinmen.co.uk

Hollow Giants – ‘Brother’

London three-piece Hollow Giants are a garage-rock band who seem to specialise in dense and rhythmic rock in the same vein as Black Rebel Motorcycle Club. ‘Brother’ is their debut single, which they are self-releasing on 11 March, and it sounds brilliant – with a healthy dollop of scuzzy guitars and strong, slightly dreamy, vocals. Check it out:

The Physics House Band – ‘Abraxical Solapse’

As you can probably guess from the band name and song title, these guys are definitely pitching out of the intellectual end of the rock music spectrum. They’re called The Physics House Band because their music is a humble fusion of all the main elements – “sound, heat, light and electricity. Not fashion.” No idea what an ‘Abraxical Solapse’ is, though, other than it sounds very exciting! It’s taken from their debut EP ‘HORIZONS / RAPTURE’, which is out in April – full details at their labels website: bloodandbiscuits.blogspot.co.uk

Empty Pools – ‘Small Talk’

I featured Bristol-based band Empty Pools last summer, and now they have another new single coming out on the very brilliant Battle Worldwide Recordings label. Called ‘Small Talk’, the single is another confident and assured track from Empty Pools, who are starting to build a very strong collection of tunes for their first album:

Snapped Ankles – ‘True Ecology (Shit Everywhere)’

Purely on their band name alone, these London post-punkers deserve a bit of coverage! Their music’s not too bad either – with new single ‘True Ecology (Shit Everywhere)’ featuring some very Joy Division-esque dark bass lines. They also dress up in mental shamanistic costumes for their live shows, which is another plus point!

The Kill Van Kulls – ‘Rule The Night’

‘Rule The Night’ is taken from The Kill Van Kulls new ‘Wooden Heart EP’ – which is out on 18 March, and is perfect if you fancy something a bit epic! The title track from the EP is also available to stream by following the Soundcloud link below, which is also well worth a listen.

Ceiling Demons – ‘Lord, I Must Be Strong Now’

Ceiling Demons describe themselves as ‘an alternative hip-hop project from Leeds’, and after listening to their stuff for the past few hours I have to say they sound very promising. Good production values, an ear for a good beat and lots of cool masks! ‘Lord, I Must Be Strong’ is taken from their self titled EP, which you can stream on Bandcamp.

Post Author: Luke Glassford

Post written by Luke Glassford - founder, editor, writer and everything else at All-Noise.