Africa Express album

Damon Albarn confirms new Africa Express album to be released next month

Last month we got news that Damon Albarn had been in Mali with a host of musician friends working on a new album for his Africa Express project.

Today it has been confirmed that Transgressive Records will be releasing Africa Express Presents: Maison Des Jeunes on 9 December.

As well as working with a new wave of Mali musicians on the album, Albarn enlisted the help of an impressive roster of talent including Brian Eno, Ghostpoet, Nick Zinner (Yeah Yeah Yeahs), Holy Other and David Maclean (Django Django) amongst others.

Full album and preorder details can be found at the Transgressive site.

The first track to be aired from the album is the below ‘Soubour’ by Timbuktu indie Songhoy Blues, which was co-produced by Nick Zinner:

Africa Express Presents: Maison Des Jeunes tracklist:
1- Adama Koita – ‘Fantainfalla Toyi Bolo’ (Produced by Two Inch Punch)
2- Songhoy Blues – ‘Soubour’ (Produced by Nick Zinner & Remi Kabaka)
3- Ghostpoet feat. Doucoura – ‘Season Change’ (Produced by Two Inch Punch & Damon Albarn)
4- Bijou – ‘Dougoudé Sarrafo’ (Produced by Damon Albarn)
5- Lil Silva – ‘Bouramsy’ (Produced by Lil Silva)
6- Talbi – ‘Rapou Kanou’ (Produced by Two Inch Punch)
7- Gambari feat. Kankou Kouyaté – ‘Yamore’ (Produced by Damon Albarn)
8- Yacouba Sissoko Band – ‘Chanson Denko Tapestry’ (Produced by Brian Eno)
9- Lobi Traoré Band – ‘Deni Kelen Be Koko’ (Produced by David Maclean)
10- Moussa Traoré – ‘Farafina’ (Produced by Damon Albarn)
11- Tiemoko Sogodogo – ‘Latégué’ (Produced by Brian Eno)

Post Author: Luke Glassford

All-Noise was founded in 2010 with just one simple aim – to highlight and celebrate ‘proper music’, made by real people with real musical inspirations.