brit awards 2012 nominees

Brit Awards 2012 nominees announced…

Award season is upon once again, and today saw the release of the nominations for this years Brit Awards – which is to be held on February 21 at the 02 Arena.

Ginger singer-songwriter Ed Sheeran leads the way with four nominations, for British Male Solo Artist, British Breakthrough Act, British Single (for ‘A-Team’) and the Mastercard British Album of the Year for his debut album ‘+’.

Predictably, Tottenham warbler Adele features prominently, gaining three nominations (Female Solo Artist, Single and Album) and Blur have been confirmed as this years winners of the Outstanding Contribution to Music Award – so at least we’ll have a good ending to the show!

Full nominations are below – let us know what you think of this years nominees and who you want to win in the comments at the bottom…

Brit Awards 2012 nominations

British Male Solo Artist:

Ed Sheeran

James Blake

James Morrison

Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds

Professor Green

British Female Solo Artist:


Florence & The Machine

Jessie J

Kate Bush

Laura Marling

British Breakthrough Act:

Anna Calvi

Ed Sheeran

Emeli Sande

Jessie J

The Vaccines

British Group:

Arctic Monkeys

Chase & Status




British Single:

Adele – Someone Like You

Ed Sheeran – The A Team

Example – Changed The Way You Kiss Me

Jessie J ft. Bob – Price Tag

JLS ft. Dev – She Makes Me Wanna

Military Wives / Gareth Malone – Wherever You Are

Olly Murs ft. Rizzle Kicks – Heart Skips A Beat

One Direction – What Makes You Beautiful

Pixie Lott – All About Tonight

The Wanted – Glad You Came

Mastercard British Album of the Year:

Adele – 21 

Coldplay – Mylo Xyloto

Ed Sheeran – +

Florence & The Machine – Ceremonials

PJ Harvey – Let England Shake

International Male Solo Artist:

Aloe Blacc

Bon Iver

Bruno Mars

David Guetta

Ryan Adams

International Female Solo Artist:




Lady Gaga


International Group:

Fleet Foxes

Foo Fighters

Jay Z and Kanye West (The Throne)

Lady Antebellum

Maroon 5

International Breakthrough Act:

Aloe Blacc

Bon Iver

Foster The People

Lana Del Rey

Nicki Minaj

Outstanding Contribution to Music Winner:


Critics Choice:

Emeli Sande

Maverick Sabre

Michael Kiwanuka

British Producer:

Paul Epworth


Ethan Jones

Post Author: Luke Glassford

Post written by Luke Glassford - founder, editor, writer and everything else at All-Noise.